Monday, September 30, 2013
Commercial drivers licenses carry double points for violations
Friday, September 27, 2013
There seems to be great confusion on what happens if you get a traffic ticket within 3 years of using a Prayer for Judgment in North Carolina.
A prayer for judgment does not require 3 years of clean driving after getting the PJC. As long as you do not use a second PJC within that 3 year period, there will be no affect on the PJC from the second ticket.
Thursday, September 26, 2013
More on Improper Equipment and the costs associated with the charge
Wednesday, September 25, 2013
Even your minivan needs to have a red flag on the end of a load as you bring back wood from Home Depot.
See below for all markings required for oversized loads.
Tuesday, September 24, 2013
As a general rule, you can cross a broken line, you cannot cross a solid line.
White lines separate traffic lanes in the same direction, yellow lines separate opposite
See below for more information.
Monday, September 23, 2013
Level 2 license in NC has both time and passenger restrictions.
See below for details.
Friday, September 20, 2013
Littering from a car is a class 3 misdemeanor in NC. In addition to a $250 - $1,000 fine, the court can order up to 8 hours of trash pickup.
For more, see the link below.
Thursday, September 19, 2013
You must slow down for a work zone even if there are not workers. Work zones are in affect 24 hours a day. See below for more information.
Wednesday, September 18, 2013
Under North Carolina Law, you do not need a license to ride a moped. You just need to be 16 years old or older as long as the moped cannot exceed 30 MPH and is less than 50cc. In addition, you do not need to register your moped with the DMV.
See below for more.
Tuesday, September 17, 2013
Racing can cost you your license anywhere between 1 and 3 years in NC. See below for more.
Monday, September 16, 2013
More on Dogs in Cars.
Friday, September 13, 2013
Driving with a dog on your lap is as bad as texting. See article below.
Thursday, September 12, 2013
It is in violation of NC law to ride in the back of a pickup truck if you are under the age of 16. There are some exceptions. See below for the rules.
Wednesday, September 11, 2013
In Wake County, Improper Passing can only be resolved with a Prayer for Judgment. For more on Improper Passing, see the attached article.
Monday, September 9, 2013
Failure to stop for a pedestrian in a crosswalk carries a $250 fine in NC. See below link for more on this law.
Friday, September 6, 2013
Under North Carolina law, a DA must dismiss an underage seatbelt charge if the defendant can produce proof that they have a child safety seat for the child. This only applies to children under the age of 8 and less than 80 pounds.
See below for more information on this law.
Thursday, September 5, 2013
The DMV is required to notify you of a potential revocation before they can revoke your license. However, the notification only needs to be mailed to the address you have on file with the DMV. If you have move and not changed your address with the DMV, they only have to mail the notice to your old address.
See below for more information
Wednesday, September 4, 2013
Speeding in a school zone in Wake County NC is not an easy ticket to keep off your insurance. The only way to keep it off your insurance is with a Prayer for Judgment. In most cases, you will have to perform an hour of volunteer work at a non profit for each mile per hour your original speed is over the speed limit. If you do not have a Prayer for Judgment available, you will not be able to keep this charge off your insurance. The law that keeps a ticket for less than 10 MPH over the limit off your insurance if you have a clean record does not apply to school zones.